Find the right étagère for your home among our style editor’s favorites, and see how three interior designers—Matthew Patrick Smyth, Leta Austin Foster, and James Farmer—use them in clients’ homes.

Click the arrows (or swipe if on a mobile device) to see more

decorating with étagères, living room

“I like to use an étagère for the visual weight it gives a room. It can help balance out a space and it’s a great place to display your personal style and preferences.” — Matthew Patrick Smyth

Designed by Matthew Patrick Smyth | Photo by John Gruen

display shelves

Wrap bookcase ($11,550) by EJ Victor, ejvictor.com

Maitland-Smith étagère

Cleopatra’s Needle étagère ($5,385) by Maitland-Smith, maitland-smith.com

raffia display shelves

Beachcomber raffia étagère ($5,079) by Barclay Butera for Lexington Home Brands, lexington.com

decorating with étagères, pagoda-shaped etagere, filled with green china, against chinoiserie wallpaper
“I love étagères in many, many forms and use them all the time to show off my clients’ beautiful possessions.” — Designer Leta Austin Foster

Designed by Leta Austin Foster | Photo by Erik Kvalsvik
gold-toned bookcase

Garcon bookcase ($8,432) by Julian Chichester, julianchichester.com

Baker Furniture display shelves

Effie étagère from the Milling Road Originals Collection by Baker Furniture, bakerfurniture.com

Century Furniture metal etagere

Archive étagère ($4,197) by Carrier and Company for Century Furniture, centuryfurniture.com

Caracole etagere

Vector étagère ($1,800) by Caracole, caracole.com

decorating with étagères
“Form and function meld with style and panache when it comes to étagères. They’re shelves with personality, bearing the workload of built-ins but with the flair of furniture.” — Designer James Farmer

Designed by James Farmer | Photo by Emily Followill
Hickory Chair modular display shelves

Hable Florence modular étagère by Hickory Chair, hickorychair.com

ornate, pale blue etagere

Quadro étagère ($2,325) by Wildwood, wildwoodhome.com

Universal Furniture gold-toned etagere

Windemere étagère ($2,165) by Universal Furniture, universalfurniture.com

Asian-inspired etagere

Hunt étagère from The Alexa Hampton Collection for Theodore Alexander, theodorealexander.com

Jonathan Charles etagere

Berkley étagère ($9,424 as shown) by Jonathan Charles, jonathancharlesfurniture.com

In the 1800s, étagères served to display the many knickknacks typical of English middle-class decorating.


Produced by Amanda Smith Fowler

More Fresh Style